What Remains

Selected Poems

by David Curzon


This item will be released on October 12, 2021.

About this book

“There must have been some moments. What remains?”

At once accessible and lyrical, the poems of David Curzon represent a spiritual imagination in the broadest sense of the term. The ninety poems in this collection are special for their autobiographical themes—a youth in Australia, spiritual wanderings in India, and adoption of New York City as home—but also reflect the deep resonances of art and ancient texts in the poet’s inner world. Curzon’s poems on biblical themes read like modern midrashim and woven throughout are deeply felt responses to the Jewish historical experience. Critic Andrew Bullen, reviewing The Oxford Book of Australian Religious Verse, writes: “For me, David Curzon’s ‘Psalm 1,’ a post-Holocaust midrash, was the discovery of the book.”

David Curzon is author of several books of poetry — Midrashim, Dovchik, and The View from Jacob’s Ladder — and editor of the anthology, Modern Poems on the Bible. Born in Melbourne, Mr. Curzon has a B.Sc. in physics and a doctorate in economics. He worked for NASA in Washington, and for the United Nations where, as Chief of the Central Evaluation Unit, he assessed peace-keeping operations and refugee and environment programs. He lives in New York City.

Advance Praise

“David Curzon’s striking poems in What Remains read like the carefully distilled observations of a wise and reflective mind. We come to see what he sees, illuminating the experiences of day-to-day life in words that seem as if they were engraved in stone, not mere ink on paper. A beautiful book.”
Barry W. Holtz,  Theodore and Florence Baumritter Professor of Jewish Education, Jewish Theological Seminary

“Aphoristic, ekphrastic, and precise revelations animate What Remains. In his stunning rewriting of Psalm 1 and other biblical passages, Curzon shows himself to be a fabricator, a collector, and an heir to the literature, arts, and wisdom traditions of the planet. He makes you think, and think again, and feel the impact of his insights.” —Alicia Ostriker, author of The Volcano and After